Quick picks
The rankings at a glance
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Zink Triple Pak Diaphragm Turkey Calls Three Zink diaphragms with three named cuts (the X-Lady split-V triple reed, the Lucky Lady combo-cut triple reed and the Wicked Lady batwing double reed) plus an instructional DVD, sold as "three easy-to-use calls." | Best starter pack overallMouth call | 7.5out of 10 | $32.66Amazon |
| 2 | ![]() Zink Z-Pak Diaphragm Turkey Calls A three-diaphragm pack Zink calls "a great starter pack": the Z-Yelper double (two .003 in reeds, "a great place to start"), the Z-Combo V-notch double and the Z-Cutter prophylactic triple, covering cutts, yelps, clucks and purrs. | Best mouth-call pack with a double reed to start onCall kit | 7.4out of 10 | $21.98Amazon |
| 3 | ![]() Phelps Hunter's Select 3 Pack Turkey Calls Phelps's three most popular diaphragms in one pack: the combo-cut Rippin' Red, the ghost-cut Casper it calls "an easy to use call" and the triple-reed Trippin' Hen "made for the beginner or expert alike," covering yelps, kee-kees, cutts, clucks, purrs and whines. | Best pack for hearing three different cutsMouth call | 7.2out of 10 | $35.99Amazon |
| 4 | ![]() Primos Turkey Caller Starter Pak Primos's one-box starter set, a double-sided box call, a Sonic Dome slate pot call with a Slim Striker and a Sonic Dome mouth call, sold as "everything you need to get started" and "great for beginners," so a new hunter can try all three call types. | Best all-in-one box, pot and mouth kitCall kit | 5.8out of 10 | $40.48Amazon |
#ad · Prices come live from Amazon, last checked November 2, 2026. Scores are ours, computed from published specs and maker claims with the bands on our methodology page, not from field testing. Photos come from each product's Amazon listing. Tap a row for the full write-up.

How we picked
Four kits in our registry are sold as packs rather than single calls, and all four are here. Each is scored on the call rubric published with our First-Season Score — beginner learning curve 30%, sound range 20%, weather tolerance 20%, build 15% and carry 15%.
A kit is scored the way a beginner will actually experience it: the learning-curve metric looks at the easiest call in the box, because that is the one that will make your first believable yelp, and the weather and carry metrics follow the kit's format. That is why mouth-call packs score high — a diaphragm does not care about rain and weighs nothing — and why a kit containing a wooden box call cannot.
Every reed count, cut name, included item and warranty term below was read on the maker's own product page and links back to it. Where a maker publishes nothing, the table says “not published” and the score treats it as missing rather than guessing. We do not test calls.
Two completely different things sold as kits
Search “turkey call starter kit” and you get two products that share nothing but the word.
A mouth-call pack is three diaphragms in a plastic case, usually with different cuts, sold to a hunter who already runs calls and wants to find the cut that fits their mouth. Zink's Z-Pak, Zink's Triple Pak and Phelps's Hunter's Select 3 Pack are all this. They are cheap, they are the lightest calls there are, and they are the hardest to learn: the NWTF's own piece on mouth call madness is a tour of everything that can go wrong between the reeds and your palate.
An all-in-one kit is one of each type — a box call, a pot call with a striker and a mouth call — sold to someone who has never owned a turkey call and does not know which type suits them. Primos's Turkey Caller Starter Pak is the only one of those in our registry, and Primos sells it as “everything you need to get started” and “great for beginners and advanced hunters.”
If you are buying for a first season or buying a gift, you want the second kind, and the ranking below is going to look upside down until you read why.
The four kits, side by side
Why the Triple Pak wins
Zink's Triple Pak scores 7.5 and the Z-Pak 7.4, which is a tie in everything but the tiebreak. Both are three Zink diaphragms, both are covered by the same GSM Outdoors defect warranty, both weigh nothing and both shrug off rain.
Two things separate them. The Triple Pak includes an instructional DVD, and on a call type where the failure mode is technique rather than the product, instruction in the box is a real feature. And it names three distinct cuts — a split-V triple, a combo-cut triple and the batwing-cut Wicked Lady double — so you can hear what a cut guide describes. The Z-Pak answers with the clearer beginner story: two of its three calls are doubles, including the Z-Yelper that Zink calls “a great place to start for anyone looking to enter the sport,” with two .003 in reeds published.
Honest flaw in the winner: Zink's own pages disagree about the Lucky Lady's cut, calling it a combo cut on the Triple Pak page and a V-notch on the call's own page. We report both rather than pick one. And the instruction is a DVD, which Zink lists with no streaming alternative — a 2026 problem the packaging has not caught up with.
Phelps's Hunter's Select 3 Pack takes third at 7.2 on the widest published sound range of any kit here — raspy yelps, kee-kee runs, cutting, clucks, purrs and whines — and loses on the learning curve, because no call in it is published as a double reed. More reeds mean more air pressure and more things to get wrong at the start. If you already run a mouth call and want new cuts, this is the pack to buy; which cut does what is explained in mouth call cuts explained.
The three-call kit, and why it scores 5.8
Primos's Turkey Caller Starter Pak is the kit most people picture when they search for a starter kit, it is the only one that lets a beginner try all three call types for one purchase, and it scores last at 5.8. Both things are true, and the gap is almost entirely about what Primos does not publish.
One more thing to check before you buy this one: retailer listings describe the contents differently from Primos. Sportsman's Warehouse lists a conditioning kit and a carrying case that Primos's own page does not mention. Read the listing you are actually buying from. If it does include a conditioning kit, that matters — the NWTF's guide to friction calling is clear that a pot call needs its surface conditioned before it will talk, and a slate surface wants a scrub pad.
A kit or two calls you chose
Here is the arithmetic nobody selling kits puts on the box. A starter kit is good value when you do not yet know which call type suits you, and poor value the moment you do, because you pay for calls you will not carry.
- Buy the all-in-one kit if this is your first turkey call and you genuinely do not know whether you are a box, pot or mouth caller — or if you are buying a gift for someone who has not started yet. Trying all three for one purchase is worth more than a spec sheet.
- Buy a mouth-call pack if you already run a friction call and want to add the hands-free call, or if you run a diaphragm already and are hunting for a cut that seals better. Three cuts for the price of two calls is the real argument.
- Buy two calls you chose if you have read a ranking and have opinions. Our beginner picks rank individual calls on the same rubric, and the honest starter pairing — one friction call you can run on day one plus a mouth call to grow into — is laid out in best turkey calls for beginners.
The one combination to avoid is a mouth-call pack as a first and only purchase. A diaphragm is the call that takes a spring of practice before it sounds like a hen, and a kit of three of them gives a beginner three ways to sound wrong. Buy a box call too; the ranked box calls are in best box calls, and the no-practice option is a push-button, covered in best push-button turkey calls.
In detail
The picks, in full
Rank 1

Best starter pack overall
Zink Triple Pak Diaphragm Turkey Calls
Three Zink diaphragms with three named cuts (the X-Lady split-V triple reed, the Lucky Lady combo-cut triple reed and the Wicked Lady batwing double reed) plus an instructional DVD, sold as "three easy-to-use calls."
Spec sheetEvery row sourced to the maker
How the 7.5 score breaks down
- Beginner learning curve (30%)
- 5
- Sound range (20%)
- 8
- Weather tolerance (20%)
- 9
- Build & materials (15%)
- 7
- Carry & vest noise (15%)
- 10
What the specs support
- An instructional DVD is in the box, and Zink calls all three "easy-to-use calls."
- Three different cuts (split-V, combo and batwing) in one purchase, a direct way to hear what a cut guide describes.
- Includes a double reed (Wicked Lady) alongside the two triples.
- Covered by GSM Outdoors' manufacturing-defect warranty (length not stated).
Where it falls short
- Zink's own pages disagree on the Lucky Lady's cut: combo on the Triple Pak page, V-notch on its own page.
- Two of the three calls are triple reeds.
- The instruction comes on DVD; Zink's page lists no streaming alternative.
Skip this if…
…you only want one call to learn on; the Wicked Lady double reed is sold on its own.
#ad · Price as of November 2, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Zink Triple Pak Diaphragm Turkey Calls
Rank 2

Best mouth-call pack with a double reed to start on
Zink Z-Pak Diaphragm Turkey Calls
A three-diaphragm pack Zink calls "a great starter pack": the Z-Yelper double (two .003 in reeds, "a great place to start"), the Z-Combo V-notch double and the Z-Cutter prophylactic triple, covering cutts, yelps, clucks and purrs.
Spec sheetEvery row sourced to the maker
How the 7.4 score breaks down
- Beginner learning curve (30%)
- 5
- Sound range (20%)
- 7
- Weather tolerance (20%)
- 9
- Build & materials (15%)
- 8
- Carry & vest noise (15%)
- 10
What the specs support
- Zink sells it as "a great starter pack" and calls the Z-Yelper "a great place to start for anyone looking to enter the sport."
- Two of the three calls are double reeds.
- Reed specs are published per call: .003 in reeds on the Z-Yelper, prophylactic reeds on the Z-Cutter.
- Covered by GSM Outdoors' manufacturing-defect warranty (length not stated).
Where it falls short
- Only four sounds named for the pack; kee-kees and cackles are not on Zink's list.
- No box or pot call: it is a mouth-call-only starter, unlike the Primos Starter Pak.
Skip this if…
…you want a friction call to fall back on while you learn the diaphragm; this pack is mouth calls only.
#ad · Price as of November 2, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Zink Z-Pak Diaphragm Turkey Calls
Rank 3

Best pack for hearing three different cuts
Phelps Hunter's Select 3 Pack Turkey Calls
Phelps's three most popular diaphragms in one pack: the combo-cut Rippin' Red, the ghost-cut Casper it calls "an easy to use call" and the triple-reed Trippin' Hen "made for the beginner or expert alike," covering yelps, kee-kees, cutts, clucks, purrs and whines.
Spec sheetEvery row sourced to the maker
How the 7.2 score breaks down
- Beginner learning curve (30%)
- 4
- Sound range (20%)
- 9
- Weather tolerance (20%)
- 9
- Build & materials (15%)
- 6
- Carry & vest noise (15%)
- 10
What the specs support
- Three different cuts in one pack (combo, ghost and a triple-reed signature cut), so you can find which one seals and sounds right for you.
- Six sounds named across the pack, from kee-kee runs to whines.
- Phelps publishes the Rippin' Red's latex stack: .004 red over double .004 natural.
- Phelps describes two of the three as easy to use or suited to beginners.
Where it falls short
- No double reed is published in the pack: the Trippin' Hen is a triple, the Rippin' Red is a three-layer stack and Casper's reed count is not listed.
- No weight or warranty terms published.
Skip this if…
…you want a published double reed to learn on first; nothing in this pack is listed as a double.
#ad · Price as of November 2, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Phelps Hunter's Select 3 Pack Turkey Calls
Rank 4

Best all-in-one box, pot and mouth kit
Primos Turkey Caller Starter Pak
Primos's one-box starter set, a double-sided box call, a Sonic Dome slate pot call with a Slim Striker and a Sonic Dome mouth call, sold as "everything you need to get started" and "great for beginners," so a new hunter can try all three call types.
Spec sheetEvery row sourced to the maker
How the 5.8 score breaks down
- Beginner learning curve (30%)
- 9
- Sound range (20%)
- 4
- Weather tolerance (20%)
- 4
- Build & materials (15%)
- 5
- Carry & vest noise (15%)
- 5
What the specs support
- All three call types in one box (box, slate pot with striker and a diaphragm), so a beginner can find out which one they run best.
- Primos markets it directly at new hunters: "Great for beginners and advanced hunters."
- The box call is double-sided (per Primos).
- Backed by Primos's 1-year defect warranty.
Where it falls short
- Primos publishes no sounds, materials or dimensions for any call in the kit.
- Neither the box nor the slate carries a weather claim, so rain is a concern for the two friction calls.
- Retailer listings describe the contents differently from Primos (one adds a conditioning kit and carrying case), so check the contents on the listing before you buy.
Skip this if…
…you already own a box or pot call you like; you would be paying for duplicates, so buy a single mouth call instead.
#ad · Price as of November 2, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Primos Turkey Caller Starter Pak
Buyer's guide: reading a kit listing
Count the reeds before you count the calls
On a mouth-call pack, the number that matters is not three calls, it is how many reeds the easiest call has. A double reed takes less air and less tongue pressure than a triple. Zink publishes a double in both of its packs; Phelps publishes none. If a pack lists no reed counts at all, assume you are buying the harder end.
Check whether the pot call comes with its conditioning tool
A pot call that has not been conditioned will not make a sound, and a beginner who does not know that will think the kit is broken. Slate and aluminum want a scrub pad; glass and crystal want sandpaper or a stone, per the NWTF. The routine is in how to condition a slate call.
Instruction in the box is worth paying for
Calling is a technique purchase, not a gear purchase. The Triple Pak's DVD and the step-by-step pages the makers publish are more valuable to a first-season hunter than a fourth call would be. Free alternatives: how to call a turkey for beginners and how often to call turkeys.
Expect the warranty to be thin
Primos publishes a 1-year warranty against defects for the original purchaser. Zink's packs fall under GSM Outdoors' defect warranty with no stated length. Phelps publishes a claim form and no terms at all. None of that covers a call you blew out or a box call you left in the rain, so treat kits as consumables.
Two kits is one kit too many
If you buy the all-in-one kit, do not also buy a mouth-call pack in the same season. You will carry the box call, you will carry one diaphragm, and the rest will live in a drawer. Spend the second purchase on a vest with real call pockets instead — see best turkey vests.
How we picked this
Scored on the specs that decide your season
Every pick is read off the maker's own specs, materials and instructions, then scored on a public rubric built around a first-season hunter: the sounds a call is made to produce and how it holds up in rain, a choke's load ratings and thread chart, the weights, pockets and seat heights you carry all morning. Each figure links straight to the page it came from, so you can check any pick in one click.
Scores come from that documented research with fixed bands, and prices come live from Amazon with the date they were checked. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its bands are published.
Corrections & updates
- First published. Kit contents, reed counts, cuts and warranty terms from Zink's, Phelps's and Primos's own product pages, with the Sportsman's Warehouse contents discrepancy noted.
Questions
Frequently asked
What is the best turkey call starter kit?
Zink's Triple Pak, at 7.5 on our call rubric: three named cuts including a double reed, an instructional DVD in the box and a GSM Outdoors defect warranty. If you have never run any turkey call, Primos's Turkey Caller Starter Pak is the more useful purchase despite scoring 5.8, because it puts a box call, a pot call and a mouth call in your hands at once.
Are turkey call starter kits worth it?
They are worth it when you do not yet know which call type suits you, or when you are buying for someone who hasn't started. Once you know you are a box or pot caller, a kit means paying for calls you will not carry, and two calls chosen on their own merits is the better buy.
What calls should a beginner turkey hunter buy first?
One friction call you can run on day one — a box call or a push-button — and one call to grow into. A mouth call is the hardest first call there is: it is the one that takes a spring of practice before it sounds like a hen, so it belongs beside a box call rather than instead of one.
How many turkey calls do you need?
Two is plenty for a first season: a loud call to reach a bird and a soft one to work him close. Everything beyond that is about having a second voice when a bird has heard the first one, which is a second-season problem.
Is a mouth call pack good for a beginner?
Only as a second purchase. A three-pack of diaphragms is cheap and weightless, but all three need the same technique you have not learned yet. Buy a double reed rather than a triple if you do start there, and keep a friction call in the vest while you practice.
Keep reading
Related on Strut & Slate
- Best turkey calls for beginnersIndividual calls ranked, if you would rather choose than buy a box of three.
- Best mouth calls for beginnersWhich diaphragm to learn on, pack or single.
- Best box callsThe call that makes a believable yelp on day one.
- Gifts for new turkey huntersIf the kit is going under a tree rather than into your vest.
Receipts
Sources
- Zink Game Calls (shop at avian-x.com) — Triple Pak product page, SKU ZNK-ZNK317 (read 2026-09-22)
- Zink Game Calls (shop at avian-x.com) — X-Lady product page (read 2026-09-22)
- Zink Game Calls (shop at avian-x.com) — Lucky Lady product page (read 2026-09-22)
- Zink Game Calls (shop at avian-x.com) — Wicked Series Wicked Lady product page, SKU ZNK-WS-WL (read 2026-09-22)
- Zink Game Calls (shop at avian-x.com) — Z-Pak product page, SKU ZNK-ZNK333 (read 2026-09-22)
- Zink Game Calls (shop at avian-x.com) — Z-Yelper product page (read 2026-09-22)
- Zink Game Calls (shop at avian-x.com) — Z-Combo product page (read 2026-09-22)
- Zink Game Calls (shop at avian-x.com) — Z-Cutter product page (read 2026-09-22)
- Zink Game Calls / GSM Outdoors (shop at avian-x.com) — Shipping & Returns page, warranty statement (read 2026-09-22)
- Phelps Game Calls — Hunter's Select 3 Pack Turkey Calls product page, SKU PHTKTC3OCOS (read 2026-09-22)
- Phelps Game Calls — Rippin Red Turkey Diaphragm product page (read 2026-09-22)
- Phelps Game Calls — Warranty page (returns/warranty claim form; no terms stated) (read 2026-09-22)
- Primos — Turkey Caller Starter Pak product page, SKU 272 (read 2026-09-22)
- Sportsman's Warehouse — Primos Turkey Calling Starter Kit listing, MPN 272 (read 2026-09-22)
- Primos — Warranty page, general warranty coverage (read 2026-09-22)
- NWTF — Mouth Call Madness (read 2026-09-22)
- NWTF — Help! (Part 1) My Friction Calling Stinks! (read 2026-09-22)
Every spec on this page comes from the maker's own product pages and manuals (or a named dealer's copy where the maker's site blocked us), with sound and performance claims attributed to the maker and any third-party observation attributed to whoever made it. Prices come live from Amazon with the date they were checked. Where a maker leaves a figure unpublished, the page says so and that spec earns the lowest band. Read the full method.